The Mad Dash to Prepare For Winter

As is customary for me, I get a bit lazy in late summer and put off as many tasks as I can until it gets too cold to do them comfortably.  At this point, I still have to do them, but curse myself for wallowing in my laziness and tell myself I’ll never do this again.

Well, guess what?

It’s that time of the year again.

Preparing for Winter

I’m hoping my list looks worse than it will actually be:

  • Drain hoses and put them away
  • Wash and put up the storm windows
  • Clean screen windows and put them away
  • Clean rain gutters
  • Collect seeds
  • Pull plants
  • Cut back perennials
  • Spread compost
  • Mulch leaves
  • Fence around the raspberries
  • Dig dirt for seedlings
  • Prepare rain water for freezing
  • Clean the garage

It looks like I could do it in a couple of days (with good weather).

Cleaning the garage might be the sticking point.  It’s an unpleasant job even in nice weather, but it would be nice to be able to have the car in the garage for once!  We’ll see how that goes. 😉

Leave a Reply

